top of page

NEW: Trump Halts Immigrant Visa Issuance to Nationals from Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar and Nigeria

President Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation that will prevent citizens of Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, and Nigeria from receiving immigrant visas (green cards) as of February 21. Nonimmigrant visa issuance is not affected by the Proclamation.

Individuals eligible for Special Immigrant visas, given for special assistance to the US government, will be exempt.

The following individuals are exempt:

  • Current US green card holders

  • Dual nationals who have a passport from a country not affected by the ban

  • Foreign nationals who already hold a valid US visa or advance parole document

  • Individuals from these countries who are already physically in the US or hold a valid US visa, issued before the Proclamation was signed

If you are not exempt, you may request a waiver for your immigrant visa application if you can demonstrate that you would suffer undue hardship if denied entry to the US and that your entry to the US would be in the US national interest and not be a threat to US security or public safety.

If you have any questions regarding this recent immigration update, please contact Ayla Adomat at

13 views0 comments


bottom of page